Skip to content


Federal Holidays:In the United States, there are 10 federal holidays set by law. Under current definitions, four are set by date:New Year’s Day                                   January 1Independence Day                              July 4Veterans Day                                      November 11Christmas Day                                    December 25If any of the above fall on a Saturday, then Friday may be observed as a holiday by various institutions. Similarly, if one falls on a Sunday, then Monday may be observed as a holiday.The other six are set by a day of the week and month:Martin Luther King’s Birthday               Third Monday in JanuaryWashington’s Birthday                         Third Monday in FebruaryMemorial Day                                      Last Monday in MayLabor Day                                          First Monday in SeptemberColumbus Day                                    Second Monday in OctoberThanksgiving                                      Fourth Thursday in November